CMC Certificate

The Certified Management Consultant designation is the preeminent professional designation for management consulting with a variety of sub-specialty areas. It is similar in scope and reliability to Chartered Professional Accountants, Professional Engineers, etc.

Country Institutes of Management Consulting (IMC’s), often through state or provincial institutes, work with government bodies to ensure that the CMC is a recognized professional designation with all the compliance, competency and ethical obligations and privileges that comes with being a top-tier individual professional.

In over 49 countries around the world, these national member institutes of CMC-Global; enrol, oversee curriculum delivery, competency assessment and ultimately individual certification to strict common standards. National Institutes are regularly audited by CMC-Global to ensure each Institute upholds and advances the high standards of the designation. This means that a CMC earned in one country can be recognized and trusted should the professional individual work in another jurisdiction.

What the CMC Designation Conveys for Clients:

An individual Certified Management Consultant must learn and show competency across a broad professional body of knowledge, which includes:

  • 6 Functional areas of organizational management: Human Resources, Strategic Planning, Finance, Operations, Information Technology, and Marketing
  • Ethical practices
  • Management Consulting processes
  • Leading Change
  • Client Communications and Project Management
  • Interpersonal skills

In addition, each CMC must show commitment to, experience in, and compliance with our Uniform Code of Professional Conduct. This code of conduct includes:

  • Legal, representational and public protection practice
  • Knowledge and expertise advancement, self-discipline and professionalism
  • Responsibility to/for others
  • Image and compliance
  • Responsibilities to client: business development, competence, informed client, fee arrangements, conflict, confidentiality and objectivity.

CMC Standards

The CMC and its related standards have been developed over many years. In 2013 these were revised in order to:

  • Bring order to a great variety of material
  • Ensure that the scope and wording is consistent with current international standards where applicable
  • Add further material that will help institutes and their assessors in maintaining the standard

The revision has been carried out by expert consultants and reviewed by both the Professional Standards Committee and Quality Assurance Committee of CMC-Global.

You can view or download copies of the documentation below.

Post-nominal initials

Consultants who have been awarded the CMC can put these initials after their name.

CMC Emeritus

CMC-Global member institutes are allowed to authorize the CMCs of their institute who cease professional activity (whether by moving into another field of activity or by retirement) to continue to use the designation “CMC emeritus” after their names.